A Trip to Tully Church

02-February-18
A Trip to Tully Church

Ms.Lynch's and Mr.Conefrey's 5th classes went on a trip to Tully Church.

Tully Church has always had a strong connection to St.Brigid. There is a legend that seven bishops set out from there to visit St.Brigid at Kildare. Elsewhere, these bishops are mentioned as the "seven bishops of Cabinteely".

The date of the church at Tully is unknown but it is thought to be from the 9th century or earlier. The church was in use up to about 1615 but after that it was abandoned and fell into ruins.

The boys worked as historians examining the various headstones and the remains of Tully Church. It was a great day out and a brilliant learning experience for the 5th class boys.

Here are some photographs of Ms.Lynch's class at work.

Events
Dec
24 2018
Christmas Holidays
Feb
18 2019
Mid Term Break
Mar
18 2019
Bank Holiday - St. Patrick's Day
Apr
15 2019
Easter Holidays
May
06 2019
Bank Holiday - May
News
11-Dec-2018
Ms. McDonough 1st Class
11-Dec-2018
Ms Mc Adam
Enquire
 
 
 
Contact
St Brigid's Boys' NS,
Mart Lane,
Foxrock,
Dublin 18,
Ireland

01 289 3199

Download the iClassCMS app on Android
Download the iClassCMS app on iOS
Location
© 2018 St Brigid's Boys' N.S.